Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 20th, 2009

Three Thoughts About Grief

Have you experienced a loss?  How do you take care of yourself when you’re grieving?

A friend lost her mom recently, my sister-in-law is recovering from cancer and a friend is coping with a husband newly diagnosed with Parkinsons.  These things reminded me of losing my mom, recovering from cancer and coping with a sick sibling.

While I’m no expert in grief, here’s three thoughts.

  1. Accept it, feel it.  Cry, shout, stomp your feet or whatever you feel like doing.
  2. Do something about it.  Take a walk, write in your journal, look at photos or something else.
  3. Reach out to your friends.  Let them know you need to talk or to pretend life is just normal, like it was before.

I think grief is horrible.  I know it rushes in on you when you least expect it.  I believe you can come out the other side of it just like I did.

Here’s a poem, http://steppingintosunshine.blogspot.com/2009/02/grief-will-make-new-person-out-of-you.html.

I agree that grief has a new face every day, http://divacowgirl.blogspot.com/2009/02/new-face-every-day.html.

Read Full Post »